If you have been injured at work, you may be entitled to compensation through insurance benefits that provide wage replacement and medical benefits in exchange for mandatory relinquishment of the right to sue your employer under certain circumstances. There are maximum and minimum rates for benefits that you may receive as provided by New Hampshire workers’ compensation law.
Effective July 1, 2013, the maximum weekly compensation rate under the New Hampshire Workers’ Compensation Law increased from $1,354.00 to $1,383.00. To be eligible for receipt of the maximum benefit, an injured worker must earn an average weekly wage as determined by RSA 281-A:15, in the amount of $2,305.00 or more. Further, the minimum weekly compensation rate increased from $270.90 to $276.60.
In addition to the preceding changes, if an employee’s average weekly wage does not exceed $276.60, the weekly compensation shall be the full amount of the employee’s average weekly wage. However, the weekly compensation rate will not exceed 90% of the employee’s after tax earnings. Finally, if an employee’s average weekly wage falls between the minimum and maximum weekly compensation rates, then the weekly compensation rate will be 60% of the employee’s average weekly wage or $276.60 whichever is greater. The weekly compensation rate will not exceed 100% of the employee’s after tax earnings.
Author: Attorney Davi M. Peters
"*" indicates required fields